Guerrilla Girls

Human society has never been and is unlikely to be ideal. However it does not stand still in its development regarding the rights and accessibility of various social benefits. If back in the 18th century women were perceived exclusively as the continuers of the family and were severely restricted in their rights, then in the late 19th and early 20th centuries suffragists and the first open feminists were seeking equal rights for women in education and politics. In the late 60s, feminists began to talk about the patriarchal nature of human society as the main generator of infringement of women's rights. They started open conversations about domestic and sexual violence.

Since the 1990s, there has been a rethinking of the entire structure of interaction between men and women. Neither women nor men are perceived as two huge homogeneous groups with common interests for all their members anymore. Now there is a change in the binary oppositions so characteristic of the human mind. At the same time, numerous art groups appear that focus on combating the manifestation of sexism and racial intolerance. One of these groups was the association of anonymous feminist activists Guerrilla Girls (from 1985 till the present).
Guerrilla Girls
Several angry women against gender and racial discrimination in the Art: Guerrilla Girls!
And read a Magazine about photography, art and multimedia for FREE!

By clicking on the button, you consent to the processing of your personal data
The event that directly provoked the appearance of Guerrilla Girls was the exhibition "International Review of Painting and Sculpture", which opened in 1984 at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. The media described the exhibition as "an exhibition of the most outstanding artists and sculptors from 17 countries." However, there were only 13 women among more than 100 participants, and the proportion of representatives of different races was even smaller. The exhibition was also accompanied by extremely controversial comments from curators who believed that artists whose works are not represented at the exhibition should rethink their approach to art and to their career.

This exhibition can be considered as a small case. However, on the scale of the whole situation associated with overt sexism and racism in the art sphere of that time this exhibition became an illustrative example. Female body and images were much more popular in art than male ones. Almost all high-profile exhibitions were funded by private organizations or individuals from a privileged stratum of society, which were mainly white men. It turned out that the exhibitions acted as translators of the power structure, and not as documentation of art. The board of directors of the New York museums was also dominated by men. All this accumulated discontent on the part of clearly oppressed female artists. Finally, in the wake of the already universal interest in feminist ideas, in 1985 this discontent resulted in the first action.
In spring of 1985, seven women, in response to an exhibition at MoMA that essentially supported sexism and racism, protested in front of the museum with unfolded posters. All the participants of the action were wearing gorilla masks. This has become the hallmark of Guerrilla Girls. When the protest failed, the Guerrilla Girls put up their posters all over downtown Manhattan. The most memorable image from their posters was the painting "La grande odalisque" by the 19th century French artist Jean Ingres, but instead of a female face, the odalisque had a gorilla mask painted.

Soon the number of activists grew, and with it the number of topics of interest to Guerrilla Girls increased. Now they were dealing with issues of sexism and racism not only in art, but also in cinema, popular culture and politics already at the national and international levels.
Some facts about the internal structure of Guerrilla Girls and their symbolism. Membership in the group is possible only by invitation from the participants of the project. The newcomer's relationship with current and former participants and involvement directly in the world of art are also evaluated. Men cannot become members of the group, but they can support it with advertising and publications. All the members of the group are presented in public not by their real names, but by pseudonyms, usually based on the names of already deceased artists or representatives of the art industry of different times. So, in the group there are Käthe Kollwitz, Alma Thomas, Hannah Höch, Frida Kahlo, Gertrude Stein and others. The idea of using such pseudonyms of the activist is primarily associated with one of the ways of giving respect. The idea of using gorilla masks as a symbol of the group arose due to a spelling error. The word "guerrilla" in English means "guerrilla", but in one of the first interviews in which one of the band members participated, this word was written as "gorilla".
"We were guerrillas before we became gorillas. From the very beginning, the press needed promotional photos. We needed a disguise. No one remembers exactly how we got our fur, but there is one story that at the first meeting the original girl, who did not know spelling well, wrote "Gorilla" instead of "Guerrillas". It was a deliberate mistake. This gave us a "disguise""
However, a random selection of the group's symbol reflects perfect the messages of the Guerrilla Girls to the public. First of all, the image of a gorilla in the mass consciousness is associated with King Kong, a wild beast that was tried to catch and tame. And strictly speaking, institutionalized artists were perceived in the art community of that time as such captured and tamed monkeys. In addition, the gorilla usually acts as a symbol of masculinity and masculine strength. But here, in combination with the exclusively female group members and the emphatically feminine images on the posters, the gorilla is perceived in a radically different way. Even the eroticized body of an odalisque on a poster with a snarling gorilla head changes the way a highly sexualized image is perceived. The addition of a gorilla not only causes dissonance in this case, but also raises the question of stereotypical female beauty, the understanding of which at that time was already beginning to blur.


In the field of art, activists have become famous mainly due to their provocative posters, opening people's eyes to the incredibly high level of sexism in the art world compared to other spheres. Their posters are always quite aggressive and accurate; they give statistics that they are right. Such things confuse people, which means they work in a certain way. In the movie industry, as a protest against the shortage of female directors during the Sundance Film Festival in 2001, Guerrilla Girls distributed relevant posters. Since 2002, the company Guerrilla Girls Inc. has been developing and installing billboards during the Academy Awards event. The slogans on the billboards, of course, are dedicated to the dominance of white men in the film industry, they sound like this: "Anatomically correct Oscar", "Even the Senate is more progressive than Hollywood" and etc.


In addition, to shed light on the inequality in the art world, Guerrilla Girls regularly publish a large number of books. Their first book was Confessions of the Guerrilla Girls, which consisted of 50 reproductions of their works and interviews with activists. This was followed by the comic "The Guerrilla Girls Bedside Companion to the History of Western Art", the gloomy catalog "Bitches, Bimbos and Ballbreakers", dedicated to stereotypical female images from masculine fantasies. In 2012, the book "The Guerrilla Girl's Museum Activity Book" was republished, which in its structure parodied children's museum books. In addition, they regularly hold exhibitions in informal cultural clubs or abandoned buildings and performance concerts, which are called "gigs".
Some people criticize the Guerrilla Girls' activists for inconsistency and even internal racism, since there are few representatives of the non-Caucasian race in the group.
However, despite all the contradictions, it is the Guerrilla Girls who popularized the issues of women' right in art. And partly because of them, sexism and racism are already beginning to disappear in contemporary Art world!
Guerrilla Girls Instagram
More photographs and videos check in our Instagram

Guerrilla Girls

Человеческое общество никогда не было и вряд ли будет идеальным, но тем не менее в своем развитии в отношении прав и доступности различных социальных благ не стоит на месте. Если еще в 18 веке женщины воспринимались исключительно как продолжательницы рода и были сильно ограничены в своих правах, то уже в конце 19 — начале 20 веков суфражистки и первые открытые феминистки добиваются для женщин равных прав в сфере образования и политики. В конце 60-х годов феминистки начинают говорить о патриархальной сущности человеческого общества как основном генераторе ущемления прав женщин. Начинают активно говорить о домашнем и сексуальном насилии.

Приблизительно с 1990-х годов происходит переосмысление всей структуры взаимодействия между мужчинами и женщинами. Ни женщины, ни мужчины больше не воспринимаются как две огромные однородные группы с общими для всех их членов интересами. Теперь намечается отход от бинарных оппозиций, так свойственных человеческому разуму. В это же время появляются многочисленные арт-группировки, которые фокусируются на борьбе с проявлением сексизма и расовой нетерпимости. Одной из таких групп и стало объединение анонимных феминисток-активисток Guerrilla Girls (с 1985 по настоящее время).
Guerrilla Girls
Несколько разгневанных женщин против гендерной и расовой дискриминации в сфере искусства: Guerrilla Girls!
И читай журнал о фотографии, искусстве и мультимедиа БЕСПЛАТНО!

Нажимая на кнопку, вы даете согласие на обработку своих персональных данных
Событием, непосредственно спровоцировавшем появление Guerrilla Girls, стала выставка «Международный обзор живописи и скульптуры», которая открылась в 1984 году в Музее современного искусства в Нью-Йорке. В СМИ выставка описывалась как «выставка самых выдающихся художников и скульпторов этой эпохи из 17 стран». Однако по факту среди более 100 участников было всего 13 женщин, а доля представителей различных рас была еще меньше. Выставка сопровождалась и крайне спорными комментариями от кураторов, которые считали, что художникам, чьи работы не представлены на выставке, следует переосмыслить свой подход к искусству и к своей карьере.

Эту выставку можно считать частным случаем, однако в масштабах всей ситуации, связанной с неприкрытым сексизмом и расизмом в арт-сфере того времени, это можно назвать показательным примером. Женские формы и образы продолжали пользоваться бОльшей популярностью в искусстве, нежели мужские. Почти все громкие выставки финансировались частными организациями или физическими лицами из привилегированного слоя общества, в качестве которых в основном выступали белые мужчины. Получалось, что выставки выступали как трансляторы структуры власти, а не как документация искусства. В совете директоров музеев Нью-Йорка также преобладали мужчины. Все это накапливало недовольство со стороны явно притесняемых женщин-художниц, и наконец, на волне уже всеобщего интереса к феминистическим идеям, в 1985 году это недовольство вылилось в первую акцию.
Весной 1985 года семь женщин в ответ на по сути поддерживающую сексизм и расизм выставку в МоМа вышли на протестную акцию перед музеем с развернутыми плакатами. Все участницы акции были в масках горилл. Это и стало отличительной чертой Guerrilla Girls. Когда же протест не увенчался успехом, Guerrilla Girls расклеили свои плакаты по всему центру Манхеттена. Самым запоминающимся изображением с их плакатов стала картина «Большая одалиска» французского художника 19 века Жана Энгра, но вместо женского лица у одалиски была нарисована маска гориллы.

Вскоре число активисток выросло, а вместе с этим увеличилось и количество тем, интересующих Guerrilla Girls. Теперь они занимались вопросами сексизма и расизма не только в искусстве, но и в кинематографе, массовой культуре и политике уже на национальном и международном уровнях.
Немного о внутренней структуре Guerrilla Girls и об их символике. Членство в группе возможно только по приглашению от участниц проекта. Также при вступлении оцениваются отношения новичка с нынешними и бывшими участницами и причастность непосредственно к миру искусства. Мужчины не могут стать членами группы, но могут поддерживать ее рекламой и публикациями. Все участницы группы представляются на публике не своими реальными именами, а псевдонимами, обычно основанными на именах уже умерших художниц или представительниц арт индустрии разных времен. Так, в группе есть Кете Коллвиц, Алма Томас, Ханна Хёх, Фрида Кало, Гертруда Стайн и другие. Идею использования таких псевдонимов активистки в первую очередь связывают с одним из способов дани уважения. Идея же использования масок горилл в качестве символа группы возникла из-за орфографической ошибки. Слово «guerrilla» в переводе с английского значит «партизан», но в одном из первых интервью, в котором участвовала одна из участниц группы, это слово было написано как «gorilla», то есть «горилла».
«Мы были партизанками до того, как стали гориллами. С самого начала прессе нужны были рекламные фотографии. Нам нужна была маскировка. Никто точно не помнит, как мы получили наш мех, но есть одна история, что при первой встрече оригинальная девушка, плохо знавшая орфографию, написала «Горилла» вместо «Партизан». Это была продуманная ошибка. Это придало нам «маскировку»».
Однако этот казалось бы случайный выбор символа группы наилучшим образом отображает послания Guerrilla Girls массам. В первую очередь образ гориллы в массовом сознании ассоциируется с Кинг-Конгом, диким зверем, которого попытались поймать и приручить. И строго говоря подобными пойманными и прирученными обезьянами воспринимались в тогдашнем арт-сообществе институционализированные художники. Помимо этого горилла обычно выступает символом маскулинности и мужской силы. Однако здесь в сочетании с исключительно женским составом группы и подчеркнуто женственными образами на плакатах это воспринимается кардинально по-другому. Даже эротизированное тело одалиски на плакате с рычащей головой гориллы меняет способ восприятия сильно сексуализированного изображения. Добавление гориллы не только вызывает в данном случае диссонанс, но и задает вопрос о стереотипной женской красоте, понимание которой в то время уже начинает размываться.

В сфере искусства активистки прославились в основном благодаря своим провокационным плакатам, открывающим людям глаза на невероятно высокий уровень сексизма в мире искусства по сравнению с другими отраслями. Их плакаты всегда достаточно агрессивны и точны, они дают статистику того, что они правы. Такие вещи смущают людей, а значит определенным образом работают.
В киноиндустрии в знак протеста против нехватки женщин-режиссеров во время кинофестиваля Сандэнс в 2001 году они распространяли соотвествующие стикеры, а с 2002 года их компания Guerrilla Girls Inc. разрабатывает и устанавливает рекламные щиты на время вручения премии Оскар. Слоганы на щитах, естественно, посвящены доминированию белых мужчин в киноиндустрии, они звучат так: «Анатомически правильный Оскар», «Даже Сенат более прогрессивен, чем Голливуд» и так далее.


Помимо этого, чтобы пролить свет на неравенство в мире искусства, Guerrilla Girls регулярно публикуют большое количество книг. Их первой книгой стала «Confessions of the Guerrilla Girls», которая состояла из 50 репродукций их работ и интервью с активистками. Далее последовали комикс «The Guerrilla Girls Bedside Companion to the History of Western Art», мрачный каталог «Bitches, Bimbos and Ballbreakers», посвященный стереотипным женским образам из маскулинных фантазий, и другое.
В 2012 году была переиздана книга 2004 года «The Guerrilla Girl's Museum Activity Book», которая по своей структуре пародировала детские музейные книги. Помимо этого они регулярно проводят выставки в неформальных культурных клубах или заброшенных зданиях и перформансы-концерты, которые называют «gigs».
К деятельности Guerrilla Girls некоторые относятся неоднозначно, в том числе и в феминистическом сообществе. Их критикуют в непоследовательности и даже во внутреннем расизме, поскольку в составе группы мало представительниц не европеоидной расы.
Однако, несмотря на все противоречия, именно Guerrilla Girls мир обязан популяризации проблем в различных проявлениях арт-сферы. И отчасти благодаря ним сексизм и расизм уже в современном искусстве постепенно начинает исчезать!
Инстаграм Guerrilla Girls
Больше фотографий и видео смотрите в нашем Инстаграме