Hanne Van Assche
13 December 2021
My name is Hanne Van Assche, I was born in 1995 in Belgium. Recently I graduated as a master in photography at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Ghent (KASK). I obtained my bachelor's degree from photography at Narafi, Luca School of Arts in Brussels.
My work focuses mainly on social topics, with a documentary approach. Latest project "Udachny" ("Lucky") is about a small mining town in Russia. The company that runs this mine also exports these diamonds to Antwerp, Belgium. I was so fascinated by this fact and wanted to show the residents and their surroundings.

In the beginning I was a bit scared to go all the way to the north on my own. But when I arrived, I saw that people in the north are the warmest people! I really enjoyed photographing Udachny's inhabitants. I wanted to get to know everyone and that's why I went to the highschool to ask if maybe I could give a photography workshops there. Instead I joined different english classes and the children/teenagers asked me how life in Europe is in general. We could learn from each other because I asked them the same questions about Russia. It was a great experience as a photographer and person in general!
Subscribe to FS!
Subscribe to FotoSlovo - magazine about photography, art and multimedia!
We share with you Inspiration, tell about exhibitions, explore new trends and interview iconic Artists.
In the beginning of the project I was a bit scared to go all the way to the north on my own. But when I arrived, I saw that people in the north are the warmest people!
In the far East of Russia lies a small mining town called Udachny ("Lucky"). It is located in Yakutia, a remote region captured in the icy grip of winter most of the year. A frozen world of dense taiga and immense tundra zones and hardy pine trees. Few people choose to live here, but those who do are proud citizens. Yakutia is known as the treasury of Russia. It is one of the world's richest regions in natural resources. According to Siberian legend, God once spilled a bag of earthly treasures over this part of the country. A thick layer of permafrost covers large reserves of coal, gas, gold and – diamonds.


The first rough diamond in Yakutia was discovered in 1949, transforming the Soviet Union into an important diamond producing country. Geologists scoured the vast territory, in search of this precious mineral.
In 1955 they stumbled upon an exceptionally large diamond deposit. Its discovery was a stroke of Luck!
Since then, Udachny has transformed into one of the largest open-pit mines, reaching a depth of 640m. Mining is overseen by the Russian company Alrosa. Back then, workers travelled from every corner of the Soviet-Union and established a small settlement near the mine. This was the foundation of the town Udachny, and it continues to exist up to the present day.
The hospitality and optismism of the inhabitants soothes the harsh climate. It is them who turn the scenery of a frozen and isolated world, defined by extraordinary contrasts, into a vibrant and colorful community.
Today, the 12,000 inhabitants of this town are still connected via the mine. Alrosa expects Udachny's production to last for at least another 25 years and continues to facilitate the lives of its workers.

Even though a steady job seems to be the only motivation to live in this monotown, residents find more reasons to stay, often related to the strong connection they experience with nature and their fellow citizens. Isolated from the rest of Russia, Удачный truly feels like a world on its own.
Hanne Van Assche created a book of the project "Lucky" that will be published in 2022 by Stockmans Art Books. She is doing a presale through crowdfunding where it can be bought.
https://www.kisskissbankbank.com/nl/projects/lucky
Hanne Van Assche Instagram
More photographs and videos check in our Instagram

Ханна Ван Асш

30 Декабря 2021
Меня зовут Ханна Ван Асш, я родилась в Бельгии в 1995 году. Недавно я получила степень магистра фотографии в Королевской академии изящных искусств города Гент. В своих работах я уделяю внимание социальным темам с документальным подходом.
Последний проект "Удачный" о небольшом шахтерском городке в России. Компания, управляющая этим рудником, также экспортирует алмазы, добытые здесь, в Антверпен. Я была так очарована этим фактом, что захотела показать жителей северного городка и их окрестности всему миру.

Вначале мне было немного страшно ехать на север России совершенно одной. Но когда я приехала, то поняла, что люди на севере - самые теплые! Мне очень понравилось фотографировать жителей Удачного. Я хотела познакомиться с каждым, и именно поэтому я даже отправилась в школу, чтобы узнать, могу ли я проводить там мастер-классы по фотографии. В школе я также посещала занятия по английскому языку, где подростки спрашивали меня о том, какова жизнь в Европе. Мы могли учиться друг у друга, потому что я задавала им те же самые вопросы о России. Это был отличный опыт для меня как в фотографии, так и личностно!
Подпишись на FS!
Подпишись на FotoSlovo - журнал о фотографии, искусстве и мультимедиа!
Мы делимся с вами вдохновением, рассказываем о выставках, исследуем новые тренды, берем интервью у знаковых персон в сфере искусства.
Нажимая на кнопку, вы даете согласие на обработку своих персональных данных
В начале съемки проекта мне было немного страшно ехать на север России в одиночку. Но когда я там оказалась, то поняла, что люди на севере - самые теплые !
На Дальнем Востоке России находится небольшой шахтерский городок под названием Удачный. Он расположен в Якутии, отдаленном регионе, большую часть года, находящемся в ледяных тисках зимы. Это замерзший мир густой тайги, необъятных зон тундры и огромных сосен. Немногие люди принимают решение остаться здесь жить, но те, кто на это решается, являются гордыми жителями города. Якутия известна как сокровищница России. Это один из самых богатых природными ресурсами регионов мира. Согласно сибирской легенде, однажды Бог пролил мешок земных сокровищ на эту часть страны. Здесь толстый слой вечной мерзлоты покрывает большие запасы угля, газа, золота и алмазов.


Первый неотшлифованный алмаз в Якутии был обнаружен в 1949 году, превратив Советский Союз в важную страну-производителя алмазов. Геологи обследовали огромную территорию в поисках этого драгоценного минерала.
В 1955 году они наткнулись на исключительно крупное месторождение алмазов. Его открытие было Удачей!
С тех пор Удачный превратился в один из крупнейших карьеров, глубина которого достигает 640 метров. Добыча ведется под контролем российской компании "АЛРОСА". В то время рабочие съезжались со всех уголков Советского Союза и основали небольшой поселок рядом с шахтой. Так был основан город Удачный, который существует и по сей день.
Гостеприимство и оптимизм местных жителей нейтрализуют суровый климат. Именно они превращают ландшафт заснеженного и изолированного мира в уютное и теплое сообщество.
Сегодня 12 000 жителей этого города по-прежнему связаны с шахтой. «АЛРОСА» рассчитывает, что производство на Удачном продлится еще как минимум 25 лет, что продолжит обеспечивать жизнь работников шахты и местных обитателей.

Несмотря на то, что постоянная работа кажется единственным стимулом для жизни в этом моногороде, жители находят много причин оставаться здесь, и это связано с сильной связью с природой и согражданами. Изолированный от остальной России, Удачный действительно ощущается как отдельный мир.
Ханна Ван Асш создала книгу о городе "Lucky", которая будет опубликована в 2022 году издательством "Stockmans Art Books". Сейчас она проводит предпродажу книги через краудфандинг, где ее можно купить.
https://www.kisskissbankbank.com/nl/projects/lucky
Инстаграм Ханны Ван Асш
Больше фотографий и видео смотрите в нашем Инстаграме