Masao Yamamoto

Masao Yamamoto is one of the most interesting and significant living Japanese photographers. Uncertainty, understatement, transparency, lightness — this is how his work can be described. The simplicity of composition and soft focus work to achieve this effect. A Japanese photographer like no other creates suggestive contemplative images. He shows the viewer his vision in the rhythm in which the famous lines of haiku are read.
Masao Yamamoto
"For me, a successful photo is the one that calms, gives a sense of peace. Makes you be kind and gentle"
And read a Magazine about photography, art and multimedia for FREE!

By clicking on the button, you consent to the processing of your personal data




"For me, a successful photo is the one that calms, gives a sense of peace. Makes you be kind and gentle. A photo that gives courage; that awakens memories of good things; that makes people happy"


Masao Yamamoto was born in Gamagori, central Aichi Prefecture, in 1957. Since childhood he was imbued with the beauty of nature, living on the shores of the Pacific Bay.

Young Masao began to study painting under the tutelage of an artist well-known in his town. After becoming interested in photo, Masao decided to follow the path of artistic syncretism and erase the boundaries between painting and photography, as if between the fictional and the real world. His work is now a synthesis of photography and painting. He uses photography exclusively as a way of stopping time, and this results in poetic images that evoke memories and nostalgia in the viewer.

Yamamoto started working as a freelance photographer quite early, in 1975, when he was eighteen.
In 1993 he presented his first series "A Box of Ku". Yamamoto's visual language and working method is unique in its own way. Yamamoto makes very small prints, averaging 8 by 13 centimeters, sometimes larger or smaller, which he stamps in various ways - by tinting with tea, dyeing, carrying around in his pockets, crumpling, tearing, and rubbing in his hands for long periods of time.
During exhibitions or press conferences, Yamamoto often sends a small old suitcase of prints through the rows, so that they "absorb" some of the audience's human warmth. Yamamoto builds exhibition installations from these prints by attaching them directly to the walls of the gallery in a chaotic order. Each time Yamamoto tells a new story, which reveals its meaning only in the process of creation. So, over a period of seven years, eleven different versions of the installation «A Box of Ku» were created.

In 2000 and 2008 Masao changed the title of the series and added new photos. It is believed that human life and all world processes are subject to seven-year cycles, during which we live our whole life from birth to death. Each cycle ends with a crisis, enabling a transition to a new level of development. Thus, every seven years this Yamamoto series dies and is born with a new name.
Japanese culture has always attracted and amazed Western civilization. Beginning with Japanese engravings, the West has always been captivated by the incredible elegance and depth of Japanese art. One of the secrets of this success is the special philosophical basis that emerged from the synthesis of traditional Shintoism and Buddhism.

If Shintoism brings to Japanese art a search for beauty, which is understandable to a European, then Buddhism adds a moment unusual for us, namely the striving to show the true nature of things. For a Buddhist that is "Śūnyatā" - emptiness, so the main thing for the Japanese artist is to convey his vision of truth - emptiness. And this is reflected in almost all areas of Japanese art.
Загадочные и глубокие снимки настраивают зрителя на созерцательность.
The same principle underlies Masao Yamamoto's photographs, which have resonated widely in the photographic world. While postmodern photo of the recent past gravitated toward gigantism and photographers competed by making larger and larger prints, Yamamoto's photos can fit into a small box, like the one in which children put their treasures. Masao spent a long time as a child wandering in the neighborhood, gathering a collection of insects and other objects of nature, in which the future photographer saw a special beauty.
The mysterious and profound photos set the viewer up for contemplation.
"The best format is when you can hold a photo in the ladle of your palm. If you hold a a photo in the palm of your hand, you hold a memory in your hand. Like a family photo you carry with you,"
- says the photographer.


The nostalgic character of Masao's photos is fully consistent with the Japanese artistic concept of "wabi" - "poverty", which implies asceticism, contentment with little and modesty. As well as the concept of "non-thinking", which is also present in Yamomoto's installations.

As the photographer himself states:
"I would like the viewer, when looking at my installations, not to try to understand. Instead- just watch".

Masao Yamamoto's photos are included in the permanent exhibitions of the world's best museums, such as the International Center of Photography in New York, the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, the European House of Photography in Paris, and many other private and public collections. The photographer has also published several books and photo albums.
The Master's works were brought to Moscow and exhibited in spring in MAMM.
More photographs and videos check in our Instagram

Масао Ямамото

2018
Масао Ямамото – один из наиболее интересных и значимых ныне живущих японских фотохудожников. Неопределённость, недосказанность, прозрачность, лёгкость — так можно охарактеризовать его работы. На достижение этого эффекта работает и простота композиции, и мягкий фокус. Японский фотограф как никто другой создает наводящие на размышления созерцательные образы и показывает зрителю свое видение в том ритме, в котором читаются знаменитые строчки хокку.
«Для меня удачная фотография — та, что успокаивает, дает ощущение покоя. Заставляет быть добрым и нежным. Фотография, придающая отвагу; которая будит воспоминания о хорошем; которая делает людей счастливыми», — говорит Масао

Масао Ямамото родился в 1957 году в городе Гамагори, центральной части префектуры Айти. С детства он проникся красотой природы, живя на берегу тихоокеанского залива.

Юный Масао начал изучать живопись под руководством известного в его городе художника. Заинтересовавшись фотографией, Масао решил пойти по пути художественного синкретизма и стереть грани между живописью и фотографией, словно между вымышленным и реальным мирами. Его творчество сейчас - это синтез фотографии и живописи. Он использует фотографию исключительно как способ остановки времени, и это приводит к созданию поэтических образов, вызывающих у зрителя воспоминания и ностальгию.

Ямамото начал работать фотографом-фрилансером довольно рано, в 1975, когда ему было восемнадцать.
В 1993 он впервые представил свою серию «A Box of Ku» («Футляр пустоты»). Найденный Ямамото визуальный язык, метод его работы по-своему уникален. Ямамото делает очень маленькие отпечатки, в среднем 8 на 13 сантиметров, иногда больше, иногда меньше, которые различными способами старит — тонирует чаем, подкрашивает, носит с собой, рассовывая по карманам, сминает, рвёт, долго мусолит в руках.

Во время выставок или пресс-конференций Ямамото часто пускает по рядам небольшой старый чемоданчик с принтами, чтобы они «впитали» частицу человеческого тепла зрителей. Из этих принтов Ямамото строит выставочные инсталляции — крепит их непосредственно на стены галереи в хаотичном порядке. Каждый раз Ямамото рассказывает новую историю, смысл которой раскрывается лишь в процессе создания. Так, за семь лет было создано одиннадцать разных вариантов инсталляции «A Box of Ku».

В 2000 и 2008 Масао меняет название этой серии и дополняет новыми снимками. Считается, что человеческая жизнь и все мировые процессы подчинены семилетним циклам, в течение которых мы проживаем всю жизнь от рождения до смерти. Каждый цикл заканчивается кризисом, дающим возможность перехода на новый уровень развития. Так, каждые семь лет эта серия Ямамото умирает и рождается с новым именем.
Японская культура всегда привлекала и удивляла западную цивилизацию. Начиная с японских гравюр, Запад был неизменно покорен невероятным изяществом и глубиной японского искусства. Один из секретов такого успеха — в особой философской базе, появившейся в результате синтеза традиционного синтоизма и буддизма.

Если синтоизм привносит в японское искусство понятный для европейца поиск красоты, то буддизм добавляет необычный для нас момент, а именно — стремление показать истинную природу вещей. Для буддиста таковой является «шуньята» — пустота, поэтому главное для японского художника — передать свое видение истины, то есть — пустоты. И это нашло свое отражение практически во всех сферах японского искусства.

Этот же принцип лежит и в снимках Масао Ямамото, вызвавших большой резонанс в фотографическом мире. Если постмодерная фотография недавнего прошлого тяготела к гигантизму и фотографы соревновались, делая все большие и большие отпечатки, то снимки Ямамото могут поместиться в небольшую коробку, подобную той, в которую дети складывают свои сокровища. Сам Масао в детстве подолгу бродил по окрестностям, собирая коллекцию насекомых и других объектов природы, в которых будущий фотохудожник видел особую красоту.

Загадочные и глубокие снимки настраивают зрителя на созерцательность.
«Лучший формат — когда можно держать фотографию в ковшике ладони. Если держишь в ладони фотографию — значит держишь в руке память. Как семейное фото, которое носишь с собой», — говорит фотограф.
Ностальгический характер снимков Масао полностью соответствует японской художественной концепции «ваби»— «бедности», которая предполагает аскетизм, довольствование малым и скромность. А также концепции «недумания», которая также присутствует в инсталляциях Ямомото. Как утверждает сам фотохудожник, «я бы хотел, чтобы, глядя на мои инсталляции, зритель не пытался понять. Вместо этого — просто смотрите».

Фотографии Масао Ямамото включены в постоянные экспозиции лучших музеев мира, таких как Международный центр фотографии в Нью-Йорке, Музей Виктории и Альберта в Лондоне, Европейский дом фотографии в Париже и многие другие частные и публичные коллекции. Также фотограф выпустил несколько книг и фотоальбомов.

Работы Мастера привозили в Москву и выставляли весной в МАММ, подробнее об этом можно почитать в нашем Блоге.

Официальный сайт фотографа: http://yamamotomasao.jp

Больше фотографий и видео с выставки смотрите в нашем Инстаграме